Alliance Governance
The Indiana Parks Alliance is governed by a board of directors. Board members agree to board expectations that include contributing financially to the organization, active participation in board meetings and projects and operating with ethical standards.

Thomas Hohman
Retired as Director of Indiana Department of Natural Resources(IDNR) Division of Engineering; Former President of Indiana Native Plant and Wildflower Society; Former President of Association of Conservation Engineers

Mark Young
Vice President
Principal at Parks Forever Consulting; former administrator at Columbus Parks and Recreation (OH); Bloomington Parks and Recreation, and Indianapolis Parks and Recreation; former NRPA Board of Directors and Public Policy Chair.

John Goss
Former member of Indiana Natural Resources Commission (1989-2001) and served as Director of Department of Natural Resources (2002-2005).

Jeff Seidenstein
Finance Manager, Central Indiana Regional Transportation Authority (CIRTA); retired as Budget Manager, City of Indianapolis; formerly, Assistant Director, Indiana State Parks (IDNR)

John Bergman
Board Member
Retired as Deputy Director of Indiana State Parks. Former Park Manager at Brown County, Tippecanoe River and Shades State Parks.

Phil Bloom
Board Member
Retired outdoor editor for the Fort Wayne Journal Gazette; former communications director for the Indiana Department of Natural Resources. Currently works as a freelance writer and editor.

Thomas Burkhart
Board Member
Owner of WindChime Alpacas; Retired as Property Manager at Prophetstown State Park and Huntington Lake; Co-Founder and Former President of Indiana Resource Managers Association; Former President of Huntington County Board of Aviation Commissioners; Former President of Huntington County Humane Society

Justin Coleman
Board Member
Financial Advisor at Edward Jones Investments

Tonya Figg
Board Member
Founder and Publisher of traveliN Magazine and former Manager at the Indianapolis Star. Former board member of Building Association of Greater Indianapolis (BAGI) and Bloomington Area Arts Council.

Dan Henkel
Board Member
PR consultant for non-profits; Former director of public information & education, Indiana DNR; former communication & policy director, American College of Sports Medicine.

Troy McCormick
Board Member
Owner, Natural Concepts, Inc.; Former Property Manager at Falls of the Ohio State Park.

Jerry Pagac
Board member
Retired as Executive Director of the Champaign County (IL) Forest Preserve District; Former Director of IDNR Division of Outdoor Recreation and Division of State Parks

Jim Parham
Board Member
Chief Operating Officer of Hirons & Company; Former Director of Public Information for Indiana Department of Natural Resources; Former Chief of Staff for National Park Service; Former Director of Indianapolis Parks; Former VP at Science Applications International Corporation; Former Adjunct Professor at Indiana University, School of Public Health and School of Journalism

John Schaust
Board Member
Director and Chief Naturalist at Wild Birds Unlimited; Former Manager of Holliday Park in Indianapolis; Former Senior Naturalist for Cleveland MetroParks; Former Interpretive Naturalist at Potato Creek State Park; Former Vice President at National Association for Interpretation

Davie Sue Wallace
Board Member
Development Director of Pedia Research, Inc.; Former manager for the American Red Cross. Past President, Southwest Chapter of the IN Native Plant and Wildflower Society, the Vanderburgh County Soil and Water Conservation District, the Southwest IN Master Gardener Association. Advisory Board Member-Seton Harvest Community Supported Agriculture.

Mike Wells
Board Member
President of REI Real Estate Services; Currently a member of the Board of Directors of the Boy Scouts of America, the Greater Indianapolis YMCA, the Indianapolis Airport and the Purdue Research Foundation; Former Chair of the Indiana Recreational Development Commission.

Steve Wolter
Board Member
Executive Director of the Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands; Assistant Professor part-time, Indiana University Department of Recreation, Park, and Tourism Studies.


The Executive Director of the Indiana Natural Resources Foundation and the Directors of the IDNR  Division of State Parks and the Division of Nature Preserves (or their designees), are ex-officio members, serving in an advisory capacity only.

Ginger Murphy
Non voting advisor
Deputy Director for Stewardship of IDNR  Division of State Parks; Former Chief of Interpretation for IDNR Division of State Parks, Former Interpretive Naturalist at Upper Wabash Reservoirs.

John Bacone
Non voting advisor
Director of IDNR  Division of Nature Preserves; Former Employee for Illinois Natural Areas Inventory; Former Naturalist at Turkey Run State Park.

Jody Kress
Non voting advisor
Jody is the Executive Director of the Indiana Natural Resources Foundation.


If you are interested in getting involved in the Indiana Parks Alliance, contact IPA.